Carla Gomes Receives 2021 AAAI Allen Newell Award
Written by Alex Armstrong   
Friday, 27 May 2022

Carla Gomes of  Cornell University has been named as the 2021 recipient of the ACM-AAAI Allen Newell Award for her work in Computational Sustainability and for foundational contributions to Artificial Intelligence.

The ACM - AAAI Allen Newell Award is one of the ACM's Technical Awards whose recipients are selected by their peers for making contributions of significant impact. It is named in honor of  Allen Newell one of the founding pioneers of the field of Artificial Intelligence and from 1979-80 the inaugural President of the American Association for Artificial Intelligence, the former name of the AAAI. This award has been presented annually since 1994 to one or more individuals selected for career contributions that have breadth within computer science, or that bridge computer science and other disciplines and carries a $10,000 prize, co-funded by the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence.


Carla Gomes is the Ronald C. and Antonia V. Nielsen Professor of Computing and Information Science and the director of the Institute for Computational Sustainability at Cornell University. Her research area is Artificial Intelligence with a focus on large-scale constraint-based reasoning, optimization, and machine learning. 


According to the ACM:

Gomes has played a key role in advancing the integration of methods from AI and operations research. With collaborators, she pioneered randomized restarts and algorithm portfolios for combinatorial solvers. This work has had a tremendous practical impact on solvers for satisfiability (SAT), mixed integer programming (MIP), and satisfiability modulo theories (SMT).

Inspired by her early work on experiment design for nitrogen management and wildlife-corridor design, Gomes conceived an ambitious vision for computational sustainability: a highly interdisciplinary research area which incorporates computational thinking to solve critical sustainability challenges. As the lead principal investigator (PI) of two National Science Foundation (NSF) Expeditions Awards, Gomes has grown Computational Sustainability into a robust and vibrant subfield. She has shown that addressing challenges in sustainability often leads to transformative research in computer science, in addition to having a significant practical impact. Gomes and her collaborators developed a framework for computing the high-dimensional Pareto frontier of ecological and socio-economic tradeoffs of hydro dam expansion in the Amazon Rain Forest.


More Information

2021 ACM - AAAI Allen Newell Award


Related Articles

ACM 2015 Technical Awards

Grace Hopper Award Recognizes Contribution To Secure Computation

2021 ACM Turing Award For Numerical Algorithms

To be informed about new articles on I Programmer, sign up for our weekly newsletter, subscribe to the RSS feed and follow us on Twitter, Facebook or Linkedin.



Why Is Go Good?

The five co-creators of the Go language, Russ Cox, Robert Griesemer, Rob Pike, Ian Lance Taylor and Ken Thompson, have co-authored a paper in this month's edition of Communications of the ACM in which [ ... ]

Videos From Inaugural Computer History Conference

The First International Research Conference on the History of Computing, dubbed Computing's Woodstock, gathered together a global elite of computer pioneers. It took place in June 1976 and now the Com [ ... ]

More News





or email your comment to:

Last Updated ( Friday, 27 May 2022 )